The Morning Rush

Ok, let’s talk morning. Ugh, morning. I am NOT a morning person. Total night owl – which can lead to utterly horrid mornings. Well, at least they used to be horrid. I started incorporating a couple of practices into my life that really have helped me get out the door on time without looking like I’ve just rolled out of my Tempurpedic. My biggest and most helpful life change: PREP. Yes, prep work the night before. It has revamped about my mornings. No longer am I peeking at the alarm clock while rationalizing the idea that if I skip breakfast I can lounge in bed for 10 more glorious minutes. Totally unhealthy – for mind and body!

Here’s how my evening/morning schedule have evolved:

  1. I pick out my outfit the night before work (or whatever the morning outing is). This is CRUCIAL. I cannot tell you how many minutes I used to waste in the morning putting outfits together, pondering, changing my mind, changing an outfit because of a missing button, etc.
  2. After my outfit is picked out, I try it on – all of it. Skirt, tank, cardy, belt and heels. I like to do a total try on so I can make sure everything is fitting into its home easily and properly…we don’t want loose body parts hanging out of areas we’d rather not see! I then cross my legs, reach for the sky and bend over. If the outfit passes the C.B.R. tests then the outfit is approved for the next step. If not, then Spanx comes to the rescue.  🙂 What did we do before them?
  3. I iron every part of my outfit (if it needs it) the night before, as well. I LOVE Rowenta…great brand, great products – check them out here. After everything is crisp I put it back on hangers in my closet along with my belt, shoes, jewelry and any other accessories. This may seem like a little much but I firmly believe in prepping as much as you can the night before to avoid wardrobe malfunctions, scouring the floor for that missing earring stud and inevitably running ridiculously late.  
  4. After my outfit is set I then do a quick run down of the things I’ll need in the morning and just make sure I have them around. This consists of making sure there are clean towels in the bathroom, ample soap/body wash in the shower and something quick for me to make and eat before leaving the house.

This may sound like a lot of work but I now have it down to a science! It takes me about a total of 15 minutes. 15 minutes of my life at night that saves me “who knows” how much time the next morning. It’s also a really great stress reliever to know that my mornings are not going to involve flying clothes because I can’t find that tank top! Yes, you know the one! It fits just right. Ahh, hectic-free mornings. That’s my goal. I’m not there yet but I am definitely making strides towards it! Hope these tips help to de-stress your mornings!

What practices do you incorporate into your evening/morning routines that you can’t live without?

Leave a Reply

