So you’re looking kind of oily…

Happy Friday!

Yesterday while sitting at my desk I had a catastrophe involving peanut oil. In an attempt to stir my all-natural peanut butter I got a bit aggressive, which resulted in an explosion of oil all over my outfit. Ick. It was not a good moment.

About an hour after my mishap I headed to a meeting looking quite greasy and stinking of Five Guys. I quietly prayed that I wouldn’t send anyone into anaphylactic shock as I sat there, and hoped that no one would notice the huge spots of oil all over me. However, despite my best efforts to pay attention, I became a bit consumed with myself during that meeting, and wasn’t very impressive.

This whole unfortunate event stood as a reminder that I feel my best when I take care of myself. When I’m eating healthy (lots of fruits, veggies, and water!), exercising (every little bit helps), and putting at least minor thought into what I’m wearing, I am more effective. Sadly, many days I treat myself like a soiled garment, rehashing the bad (you know, the personality quirks, parking tickets, outfits stained with oil :)), rather than taking care of the present. I go to bed without washing off my make-up, I eat the quick foods not the healthy ones, I lazily ignore the wrinkles in my clothes, I refuse to combat the lies about my self-worth. NO MORE.

No matter your past or how many white tee shirts you’ve stained with spaghetti sauce (I think my count is up to 1 billion), I’m asking you join me in taking better care of YOU! And if you need a reason why, here’s a love note from One who thinks you’re worth EVERYTHING:
…you whom I have upheld since you were conceived, and have carried since your birth. Even to your old age and gray hairs I am He, I am He who will sustain you I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.Isaiah 46:3b-4

Leave a Reply

