DIY projects that you’ll actually WANT to do

I don’t know about you but sometimes I watch those episodes on HGTV where a couple has gotten themselves into a heap of trouble by trying to rip apart their bathroom BY THEMSELVES and recreate the oasis of their dreams. Half-way through they always seem to need the help of a professional to complete their project, though – duh! I stare at the screen with my head tilted to the right and my eyes wincing…the couple is covered in dust and dirt and surrounded by holed-walls and broken vanities. What in the world possessed them to undertake such a project? Well, each situation is different but something compelled these people to get up and “do it” on their own. I do admire their determination and creativity, though. Sometimes I just feel like doing a project myself because I know EXACTLY what I have in mind and know that no one else is going to finish the project just the way that I envision it. Been there? I came across a few sites this morning that bubble over with creativity and they are DIY projects that are going to be a heck of a lot easier than refinishing your bathroom, I promise. Hold onto your hat (that you knitted yourself, of course) this is going to be good:

1. Want that fabulous black heel you just passed by in the department store but really need it in nude? Thanks to Jeff Silverman you can now create your own shoes…online! Ladies, this is monumental! You pick out your exact color, your exact heel, your exact style – the shoe you always wanted. I know, I know…its almost too much to handle!

2. If you are into one-of-a-kind jewelry then Sheyna is the site for you. Again, you can mix and match ANYTHING here…metals, charms, colors, gems…it is an imaginative dreamland for jewelry lovers. Great gift idea! Also, free shipping on every order – love that.

3. OK, this one is ridiculously cool. With a fab tool from Inmod you now have the ability to design your own pillows and bedding. Totally and utterly outrageous! No more settling for those pillows that match your couch but are so drab – now you can design exactly what you want. Ahh, the age of technology…Oh, these guys offer free shipping, as well.

4. Last and quite possibly the most life changing…custom, made to order swimwear. If you are like me, you DREAD going bathing-suit shopping. I completely loath the idea of shopping for bathing suits because I rarely (if ever) have found a suit that I am totally comfortable in. I am constantly yanking something down or pulling something up. Not anymore, those days are over, never to be seen again. Thank you, Lori Coulter, for creating a business around this ever important purchase for all of us.

So, check out these sites and have a blast creating and designing exactly what’s in that head of yours!

Leave a Reply

