I’ve burned the video in question!

Recently I made a video for a friend that moved outside of the US. I was missing her, and felt it was easier to give her a life update over video rather than sending yet another email. So, because sometimes I get an idea and just NEED TO DO IT NOW, I plopped in front of the webcam fresh out of bed, pajamas, knotty hair and all. To say it was not my best look would be an enormous understatement.

Her response to my sweet video message? “WHO ARE YOU? I love you, but what compelled you to make a video like that? You couldn’t freshen up for five minutes?” I laughed (and am still laughing) because not only is she a true friend who will be brutally honest with me, but because I should have known better…I looked really rough.

Thankfully, Jesus doesn’t say the same thing. In fact, He beckons us to come to Him in all our roughness. He promises to accept us with all our flaws, and, more than that, He assures us that He WILL cleanse us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:9). Run to the arms of the One who will accept you NO MATTER WHAT, and be confident that nothing can cause Him to stop loving you. Whether it’s bedhead and morning breath or murder, the love of Jesus is available in spite of your lack of perfection.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,  neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

Leave a Reply

