Clutter-free closet…and life

Once again, I have uttered the infamous words as I gaze into my closet, “I have nothing to wear!” When the fact is, I have about 1000 outfits lurking in the shadows. But is was a tough week of work and my closet suffered because of it. My  clean laundry was piled so high it became an overwhelming task to me and I decided to shove my clothes into their home instead of neatly folding them and putting them away. By doing this, I actually created more work for myself! Now I have to yank and pull on clothes to see what they are and what they’re covering, fold them AGAIN and put them back and iron the shirt of my choice because it is totally wrinkled because of my laziness…ughhh.

I think my closet could be a metaphor for my life, too. It’s so easy for my brain to get cluttered with things that don’t even matter and sometimes its hard to remember all the good, wonderful things in my life because I have a bunch of “wrinkled” shirts stuffed in front of them – I could label them “ungratefulness” and “discontentment”. When I am feeling overloaded with stuff and can’t seem to focus on all the good in my life I try to practice some simple rules. Right while I am in that moment of frustration I take a deep breath, close my eyes and think about my family, my warm home, my friends, my job, etc – all the blessings in my life.  I do not need more in my life – I just need to be content with what I do have. Almost immediately, that sense of focus is restored and I am reminded to try to keep those amazing gifts at the front of my closet – so I can see them everyday!

The Apostle Paul summed it up pretty well when he said, “I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”

ok,  so for the clutter free closet check out this article that give 10 tips for closet organization! Also, if you have a little extra cash this month plan to visit The Container Store…talk about organization! They have drawers, containers, baskets and shelves for just about anything…its worth it to just go and look around! Ta ta for now!

Leave a Reply

