How many times can I say ‘bra’?

The reflection in the gym mirror took me by surprise. I couldn’t figure out where all the jiggling was coming from. Undeterred, I kept running, but the bouncing of my, uh, chest didn’t stop. And I remained baffled. “Hmm, this is strange. I guess I need to go online and order a new bra, this one is not fitting correctly”, I thought to myself.

A few days later I was washing my gym clothes, and had completely forgotten about the earlier incident. That is until I stumbled upon the exact bra I had just thrown in the wash. Huh? And then it hit me! I had been wearing an old bra, one that no longer fit me, and because it was ill-fitting it could not do its job.

I had two identical bras, yet one was clearly for this season of my life while the other bra was a part of my past. Interestingly, my old, incorrect bra had some ‘quirks’ that made it difficult to use, and when I put it on last week I noticed those flaws but decided to ignore them. I chose to put on an old, out of service garment, one that had seen much better days, because it seemed like my only choice. Meanwhile, the proper fit was literally within my reach waiting to be adorned.

Sometimes my life mirrors this silly mix-up. In a moment of desperation I run back to my old habits, sinful behaviors, and insecurities. I see each entrapment and realize that something is not right, but I ignore the signs choosing to relish in the comfort of my old ways. And yet, I’m failed. Just like my floppy, unsupportive bra my past mistakes are not meant to be carried into this present season of my life.

Today is a new day with new mercies. Don’t hang on to yesterday, don’t hoard the past.

If I had thrown out my old bra, I would have avoided all this confusion; saving it ‘for later’ created a host of hilarious, but potentially embarrassing problems. Sin, unfortunately, usually has a much more devastating effect. Give it up. You can place every part of yourself in the hands of Jesus, and you can do it SHAME FREE. It’s time that we all stop clinging to the worthless, tattered garments (habits, etc.) of the past and walk in step with the One who longs to carry it all for us.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a Reply

