What to do on the Ugly Days

Last week I was in a complete fashion funk. It was bad! Each day presented a new problem… I had bedhead, awful outfits, a few breakouts, bags under my eyes, and I could go on and on. Instead! (Lucky you.) I am going to give you a few quick tips on how to make an Ugly Day better.

Step 1: As soon as you get the premonition that today just isn’t your day, commit to AVOIDING all mirrors, tinted windows, glass displays, computer monitors, cameras, and any other reflective item. Not practical? Fine, fine…just promise yourself to STOP obsessing, STOP looking (if you’re out & about a quick look isn’t going to help), and just keep smiling.

Step 2: Fake it ‘til you make it. No really! This works! Whenever a condemning, self-deprecating thought comes your way just push it out IMMEDIATELY, and then force yourself to smile. Soon enough, you’ll forget about the frizz, stained shirt, and tired eyeballs.

Step 3: Don’t mention your Ugly Day to ANYONE. It must be kept a secret. Last week I was wearing the worst outfit of all-time. No, seriously The Worst Outfit of All-Time. And I texted my sister to get some back up/share a laugh. Hours later when she & I met up, she instantly remembered by text and informed me that, “Whoa. You really ARE wearing The Worst Outfit of All-Time!”. If I had followed Step 3, she would have never noticed and I could have avoided revisiting all my self-consciousness. It’s imperative that you swear yourself to secrecy on the Ugly Days!

Step 4: Realize that you could look like this, and you don’t:

Warning! This is UGLY!

“…[your beauty] should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Peter 3:4

3 thoughts on “What to do on the Ugly Days

  1. haha!!! I’m totally going to abide by #3 from now on.
    And #4? hysterical! 🙂

    Thank you for making me smile today. I’ve been feeling like I’m having an ugly day. But luckily I didn’t tell anyone.

    • Glad you liked the advice! What I’ve learned is that it’s never as bad as YOU think! We’re usually the harshest critic.

      And again, let’s both be thankful that we don’t look like #4! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Still Have to Strut « ModGrl

Leave a Reply

