Hiding behind the Pillsbury Dough Boy

She described me as ‘puffy’, which isn’t exactly what I’d use in any sort of bio. Can you imagine: Hi! I’m Steph. I like coffee, reading, and spending time with friends. I’m outgoing, spontaneous, and puffy. Puffy. It certainly doesn’t have an alluring, feminine ring.
 
Yet, I was puffy. I was overweight, out of shape, and discontent. My friend’s observation, though a bit hurtful, illuminated the condition of my heart. While my heart didn’t resemble a frosted cinnamon roll, it was full of insecurities. Those insecurities crept into every aspect of life. Every interaction, every prayer, every movement was shrouded with a big, puffy blanket. A security blanket that I thought would protect me, but in reality it just kept me from being real. I was hiding behind the Pillsbury Doughboy.
 
Since that day, almost 6 years ago, I’ve done a lot to fix the outside, but more than that, I’ve worked on having a healed heart. No longer do feel compelled to fish for compliments, to seek affirmation, to hide myself. I’m certainly a lot less puffy, but I’m also happy to be me. Of course, I’m far from perfect, but now, even in the midst of my flaws I’ve hung up the blankie and just let people see the real me. As I continue to work on becoming ‘my best’, I’ve learned that God loves me unconditionally, and despite my humanity He’s created me for a unique purpose. The same is true for you! Why, then, do we hide behind masks (or in my case, a fictional, very doughy character)?
 
MODgrl would LOVE to hear from you either in the comments, or privately at modgrlfashion@gmail.com.
 
And remember, Truth says, “All beautiful you are, my darling; there is no flaw in you.” Song of Solomon 4:7

2 thoughts on “Hiding behind the Pillsbury Dough Boy

  1. Wow…puffy…I think that could describe me also. 🙂 Love this post & I have been traveling this journey also. Discovering the real me…a masterpiece in Christ who created me. I came across you from Cindy Beall’s blog. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

